Gratitude

I like to say I have the God-given gift of complaining. I’m really good at it. I can whip out a complaint about anything at any time. Really. You should ask my husband. 🙂

But I have to admit, as much as I joke about it, it’s one of those things I really wish I could change about myself. It’s just not fun to have all these negative thoughts running around in my head. Now I know some people are born more optimistic than others, but we still have the power to adjust our attitudes, as long as we are willing to put the work in. One of the ideas that I’ve been hearing a lot about is a gratitude journal, or a thankful journal. It’s a really neat and simple idea. Every day you write down something you are grateful for. That’s it. It doesn’t have to be a laundry list- just one thing will do. But that simple act of filtering your day through a positive light can really change your outlook. I found this neat little diagram to show some outcomes of increasing your gratefulness.

Benefits of Gratitude

Benefits of Gratitude

So I’m going to try it. I’ve grabbed a plain empty journal, nothing fancy, and each night before I go to bed I’m going to think about everything that has happened in my day and I’ll choose one thing to be thankful for. Even more than that, I want to make it one thing that I complained about that day. There is a positive in everything and I want to force myself to find it. And I hope that this simple act causes me to think more positively during the day.

Thoughts? Do you keep a gratitude journal? Positive thought is powerful. How do you keep yourself positive?

Love and Joy,

Amy

xoxo

6 Comments on “Gratitude

  1. Hi Amy!
    Thanks a lot for mentioning my post on the Gratitude Journal I’m planning to write! I sometimes find it easy to complain about things as well but as you said, there is a positive side to everything. At most times it’s even the small things in life that are truly beautiful, we just need to learn to pay enough attention to actually recognise them 🙂 I wish you all the best – enjoy life to the fullest!
    – Daria

  2. Pingback: Finding the Joy | The Rihel Life

  3. Ohhh! Writing it down daily sounds good! Every day I try to thank God in my prayers for all I have (including my eye sight, hearing, senses of taste, touch, and smell, all parts of my body and the abilities to walk, think, talk, dress myself, feed myself, etc and for a roof over my head, food to eat and water to drink and so on). Sometimes I will write it down in a private word document that no one else can see that is kind of a journal for me but to write it down every day sounds even better! Thanks for the idea. 🙂

  4. Thank you again for the idea of the gratitude journal. I have been writing in it daily since I started it last week and I always seem to find at least a page full of things to be thankful for and sometimes more! 🙂

    • You are so welcome! And I completely agree. When you write it down, you really start to realize how many good things, even just the small things, there are each and every day. 🙂

  5. Not only that but you realize, if he has already done all of these amazingly good things in your life, how much more amazing things are to come to fulfill His promises to us and supply our needs and more so we can help others in need.

Leave a Reply

