Thanksgiving: A day to celebrate family, friends, and our many blessings

Happy Thursday everyone! We are one week out from Thanksgiving, and I have to tell you… I am WAY excited. Mostly because for the first time, I will be hosting. My husband and I got married almost 4 months ago and this year, my parents and siblings will be joining us at our home for Thanksgiving. I’m my Mother’s daughter, and love to throw a party so I can’t wait. I know there will only be 6 of us, and it won’t be extravagant or anything, but I am still really really excited.

I wanted to share with you the recipes that I will be using (thank you Pinterest!!!) for our feast as well as the Thanksgiving decor and activities. I hope you find this list helpful, informative, and above all- good for body, mind, and soul. πŸ™‚ Man, I love me a holiday!!

 

Feast- main dishes, side dishes, appetizers

turkeyg

 

Not So Humble Pie’s Herb Butter Turkey….can you say, “yum!!!!”?

Roasted-Brussels-Sprouts-with-Bacon-and-Pecans

 

Once Upon a Chef’s roasted brussel sprouts with bacon, pecans, and maple syrup… I’m drooling already

5279b0c4697ab0593c003015._w.540_s.fit_

 

The Kitchn’s Spiced Cranberry Sauce… a Thanksgiving Essential (minus the brown sugar)

timthumb

 

Bed Bath and Beyond’s (I know right?!?) Ginger and Honey Glazed Carrots

exps39808_C1193305A10_15_2b

 

The Taste of Home’s Spinach Citrus Salad… always a great idea to have a few cold dishes- and this one has lots of holiday flavors!

IMG_8490A

 

Living Well Kitchen’s Pumpkin hummus… a great appetizer to keep people happy while waiting for the big feast

IMG_9975

 

Crockpot 365’s Crockpot Cornbread Stuffing… I’m not a huge fan of stuffing inside the bird, and crockpot’s are AMAZING, so I definitely love this one!

DSC_0150-001

 

Babies and Biscuits’ Sweet Potato Au Gratin… I wanted to do something a little bit different and this sounded sooo yummy!

PB201391

 

Simply Whole Kitchen’s Cranberry Brie Appetizer… another great pre-dinner idea. Obviously this one is not an everyday recipe, but great for a holiday πŸ™‚

20121225_213616

 

No Utensil Unused’s Roasted Garlic Green Beans… green beans are a Thanksgiving mainstay, and these look delicious!!!

Traditions

IMG_7995_web copy

I’m starting a new tradition this year with a Book of Thanks, a great way to remember year to year what we are thankful for….Eighteen25’s Book of Thanks

Each year that we can, my husband and I like to participate in our local Turkey Trot. It’s a great way to be active on an indulgent day, and to give back (our’s donates to local food shelters). Find one at active.com

scavenger

Such a great idea if you have a lot of kid’s in your family. Plus it gets everyone out of the house and moving. Family Fun’s Thanksgiving Neighborhood Scavenger Hunt

charlie

Because really, nothing says Thanksgiving quite like Charlie. Enjoy your pie and a sweet TV Special at 8pm (local time) on ABC

single-thanksgiving-scripture-card-preview

For my family, it is important to remember who has blessed us beyond comparison. These Printable Scripture Cards from Rachel Wojo are a great way to do that. I think I will be attaching them to to-go boxes as a parting gift. πŸ™‚

DecorΒ 

114

 

This will be our centerpiece this year. Such a cool idea! Pumpkin vases from Amazing Interior Design

candles-thanksgiving-decorations-ideas-962x641

I love the simplicity of this…container + autumn stuff + candles. Even I can do that. πŸ™‚ Centerpiece from Bs2h

printable-banner

A free printable alphabet from Shanty-2-chic to create the banner of your choosing- awesome!

There you have it! A ton of fabulous ideas for delicious food, beautiful and easy decor, and some new (and old) traditions. Check them out, give them a try, and let me know what you think! I’ll make sure to post pictures from my first Thanksgiving next week.

Love and joy,

Amy

xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Thanksgiving: A day to celebrate family, friends, and our many blessings

Leave a Reply

