All Natural DIY Sports Drink

Hello all! How is your 3 day weekend going? Mine has been relatively relaxed; catching up on all household chores and such. My husband and I went up to a state park yesterday to go for an easy trail run. We meant to just go for an hour…but ended up getting lost and doubled our excursion. Oops. 🙂 Thank goodness it wasn’t hot or we would have been in big trouble. I’m glad we took relatively enough water and fuel.

On the topic of fuel, I’ve been thinking a lot about fueling during exercise and the use of gels, sports drink, and chews. These are common supplements during high intensity or prolonged exercise, and I have used them quite often in my long distance running.

But in my desire to go “all-natural”, this has been one of those areas that I really haven’t thought about; until recently. I was listening to a talk on fitness and nutrition, and the speaker talked about making your own sports drink… Wait, what?!? You can do that? The speaker said to add lemon juice, sugar, and a pinch of salt to water. It provides simple carbs, fluids, and electrolytes; which are all important for prolonged activity. So I looked into it. I found out this idea of “homemade” sports drinks was actually pretty prevalent. There were two general recipes- lemon juice, honey, water, and salt. Or apple cider vinegar (ACV), honey, water, and salt. I looked into the nutritional content of each component and decided to try the ACV one because it provide a small amount of potassium, an important electrolyte, which the lemon juice did not.

image

So I gathered my ingredients and put them together in a ratio of

12 Oz filtered water
1 Tbsp ACV
1 scant Tbsp raw honey
A pinch of salt

I mixed them up, and hoped for the best. And you know what?

image

It wasn’t so bad. It was a bit on the sweet side, so next time I might lessen the honey a tad, but on a hot day or whenever I’ve been working out really hard, this would just about hit the spot. Not vinegary at all. Sweet, salty, slightly tangy. Would be great ice cold after a run, or from a water bottle during a long run. In fact I will defintely be trying this out with some ice cubes on my next long run- can’t wait!

Now please note, a sports drink of any kind is unnecessary when doing any type of exercise for under 60 min, unless it is really really hot and you’re sweating a lot. Supplementation other than water is really only needed when you start exceeding the 90 min mark. So please, don’t go drinking this constantly at the gym. But if you will be out doing a long run, bike, swim, hot yoga session, etc, then by all means, give it a try. 🙂  And let me know what you think.

I’ll be posting soon about other whole food ways to get much needed calories during long training sessions.

And on that topic, I’m sure you’ve noticed my posting has been relatively light lately. That’s because I only have a few weeks to go until my Personal Trainer’s Certification Test. This girl has been studying like crazy!! Which of course takes time away from the blog- I hope you understand. But by early April, I should be back in full force, and better than ever…fully certified! 🙂 

Love and joy,
Amy
xoxo

Leave a Reply

