Small Change Saturday… the first. :)

I’ve been trying to figure out for a while now what my “philosophy” as a personal trainer is. What are people going to come to me for? Why me and not someone else? What will make me different?

And the thing that I’ve come up with, at least one of a few things, is that I am willing to help people start small.We (as a people) love instant gratification. We love instant answers. We love instant rewards.

But sadly… (or not so sadly?) life isn’t like that. Life isn’t about quick solutions. It doesn’t care about what you want RIGHT NOW. Life is a constant. It cares about what you do day in and day out. Those are the things that really shape your life, that really mold who you are and where you are going. It’s those small but continuous choices that we make that lead us to our future. As they say, it’s in the details.

And I really really want to help people with that. Help people be OK with that. That they aren’t going to lose 50lbs in one month… I mean, it’s probably possible… but it’s not safe. It’s not healthy. And it’s not what I do.

I want to help people make small incremental changes to their daily lives, and in doing so, see huge results over a lifetime. But not only do I want to do that with my clients. I want to do that for everyone. I don’t care if you pay me. For me, it’s not about the money. It’s a passion for helping others discover their absolute healthiest and most joyous lives.

So with that in mind, each week I want to offer you one small, tiny change that you can make to better your own life. It’s something that won’t take a ton of extra time, money, or effort, but that will grow exponentially over time for a huge payoff.

 

Ready? Here’s our first Small Change… Drumroll please…..

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SMILE!!!!!!

 

That’s it. This week I want you to work on smiling. Smile at yourself in the mirror. Smile at people you pass in the grocery store. Smile at your family and friends (just not constantly… I mean, that would be creepy).

You know the old adage, “Fake it till you make it”. Well that’s exactly what I want you to do here. You may not be in the greatest of moods, but studies have shown that even the simple act of smiling can actually trigger a positive emotional response.

Crazy, right?

 

So here’s you’re homework. Smile more. Not all the time… again, that’s creepy. Just more. Smile when you wake up in the morning. Smile when you first walk outside. Smile as you write an email, surf the web, or perform your workout. Just keep reminding yourself to smile more, and trust me, you and everyone around will start noticing the difference.

 

 

Love and joy,

Amy

xoxo

One Comment on “Small Change Saturday… the first. :)

  1. I told someone at church today about your post. Of course I was smiling as I shared. 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

