Small Change Saturday: Veggify!

I have never been a picky eater. In fact, it is very much the opposite. Rarely do I find a food I don’t like. Even as a kid, I never had to be reminded to eat my vegetables. I like vegetables. There are so many types and ways to eat them… how can you ever get bored?

But even with that in mind, I rarely eat enough vegetables. They just aren’t on the forefront of my mind all the time. At least, they hadn’t been. I’ve started really focusing lately on the number of vegetables I eat each day and it has really helped me to eat better. I honestly can say I feel better for it too.

I wanted to share with you one of my tricks to increasing my veggie count. At least 1 meal a day, I replace a grain with a veggie. It’s not as hard as it sounds. Grains, the whole variety, can be great for you. They are packed with fiber and some essential vitamins and minerals. But veggies? They are also an amazing source of complex carbs, fiber, but have even more amazingly good things for you- vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, and more. Plus, they are very low in calories.

Now, you’ve heard me say this before… I abhor calorie counting. It sucks and I just don’t do it. I’m lazy that way I guess. But, I can tell on the days that I don’t focus on getting as much produce as possible, that I tend to feel sluggish and bloated. And those are the days I know my calories “in” are higher than my calories “out”. An easy way for me to keep things in check is to eat mass amounts of vegetables. They are extremely filling, nutrient dense, and very low in calories (if you’re into that sort of thing šŸ˜‰ ).

Back to the small change: each day switch out one grain for a veggie.

andevidencelibrary.com

andevidencelibrary.com

This can look differently for different people. If you’re a sandwich for lunch kind of person, maybe you have a salad instead? Or you can eat your tuna or chicken salad with cucumbers and carrots, or layer your ham and cheese on a bell pepper.

If you tend to eat a heavy grain with dinner every night, maybe switch it out for some grilled or roasted veggies. It’s super easy, just slice whatever is in season, add a splash of olive oil and place either in a tinfoil packet on the grill or on a baking sheet in the oven.

Breakfast? Veggies at breakfast you say? Crazy? Nah, just saute some in a bit of grass-fed butter with your scrambled eggs. Or add some greens to your morning smoothie. Or dice some sweet potato and saute with some breakfast sausage and your leftover veggies from the night before to create a hash.

Be creative. Try something new!

 

Just one meal a day can make a huge difference in your weight, the amount of nutrients your body is receiving, and your overall health.

 

Small changes daily make huge changes for life!

 

Love and Joy,

Amy

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

