Small Change Saturday: Quick Journaling

I have always wanted to keep a diary. With my love of reading and writing; I should love to journal right? I should be great at keeping record of what has happened, my hopes, my dreams… but no, I’m pretty terrible at it. I’ve tried. I’ve really really tried. And about day 4 things go wonky. I don’t know why or how, but I fall of that bandwagon pretty darn quick, every time.

Until recently.

 

I discovered one sentence journaling. What?!? One sentence you say? I can do that! That’s quick, easy, and totally manageable. I was at a book store on my latest vacation and saw a whole slew of one sentence journals. It gives you just a few lines to write down what happened that day. No deep analysis, no drama; just a quick, easy, simple record of your day. The best part in fact. Just a sentence or two on the best part of your day.

I’ve tried gratitude journals too… but I always ended up with the same few ideas. I’m thankful for my job… my husband… my family… um….

 

But for some reason when I have to write about my day, but something positive, I am able to come up with something every time. It’s not like I’m saying, “I’m thankful for my job” or “I’m thankful for the sun and the trees”. Instead I could write something like, “Such and such happened at work. It was really cool” or “Took a hike with the family today. It was beautiful.”

And that’s it.

It’s positive. It’s nurturing. It’s a great way to focus on the good things in life while keeping record of has happened in my day to day routine.

And I have been going strong for over 3 weeks now. What?!? Soo impressed with myself. šŸ™‚

 

Now, you don’t have to run down and pick up a special kind of notebook or journal for this. I didn’t. I liked the idea, but I didn’t want to be limited. So I got a small unlined notebook. I figured I could write as little or as much as I would like (some days…3 sentences! crazy.). And I could even add ticket stubs, or stickers, or doodles and such depending on my mood. This is one of the reasons I don’t have a picture of my quick journal on here. I don’t want you to be influenced at all. I want you to take the idea and make it your own. Create your own unique experience.

Just keep it short and positive.

A great way to end your day.

 

 

Love and Joy,

Amy

xoxo

One Comment on “Small Change Saturday: Quick Journaling

Leave a Reply

