The Fixer

I’ve always been one of those people that can walk into a situation and find about 10 things that need to change. Things that aren’t being done correctly, or efficiently, it doesn’t matter… if it’s “wrong” I can find it.

And I have always HATED that about myself. I’m a complainer. I go crazy when things aren’t running smoothly or aren’t being done up to “my standards”. It’s hard for me to just go-with-the-flow when I know there is a better way.

Even at my new job…especially at my new job… I feel like from day one I’ve been telling them better ways of doing things. Not in a mean way. But if something isn’t going quite right, I make it known. This makes me sound like a nut job and a royal b*****, but it’s like word-vomit. I just can’t help it. It just comes out.

And again- I’ve hated it. It makes me feel like I’m always negative, always finding fault, always pushy. And I’ve tried to stop. Really I have. I’ve tried countless ways to be more POSITIVE, OPTIMISTIC, SUNSHINY (if that was a word?), and I always kick myself when I can’t measure up to this standard.

Weird isn’t it… that I’m complaining about my ability to complain..?

But I had an epiphany yesterday.

 

I need to change my view on this trait of mine. No, I’m never going to be that person that can just “go with it”. I’m never going to be able to keep a smile on my face 100% of the time. And I’m never going to be able to always keep my mouth shut when I know there is a better way of doing things.  I may think that those positive people are better than me… and yes positivity is an amazing trait to have.

But just because I’m not like THOSE people, doesn’t make me a bad person.

Yes I need to be careful of my approach when I am offering advice, but that doesn’t mean that I can’t offer it. And no, my advice may not always be taken (and I am not always correct either). But in certain situations, it is totally valid to offer an opinion.
I’ve decided that it takes all types to make the world go round and if there weren’t people out there that were constantly striving for a better approach… then where would we be? What would we be?

Complacency is never an option for me.

 

It’s not my curse. It’s my super power!

 

So yes, when I enter a new situation I will probably find some way to make it better. But no, I don’t always have to say something. Some thoughts I can just keep to myself. But just because I had those thoughts, doesn’t make me a bad person.

I am a leader. A fixer. A get-it-done type of gal. I’m the person you want on your team. I can find what needs to be done and get it done, efficiently and to the best of my ability.

 

So what traits do you carry on your back? What do you do that makes you cringe? Is there a way for you to see it in a better light? We are all uniquely gifted with amazing talents. It’s time we started embracing them and harnessing them… like a superhero. “With great power comes great responsibility”. Don’t try to change who you are. Embrace yourself and find how you fit into this crazy jigsaw of a world.

 

 

Love and joy,

Amy

xoxo

One Comment on “The Fixer

  1. Amy, in respose to your post, “The Fixer,” as I was reading it, I thought of a couple ways to make your post better, but I decided this is one of those times i should probably keep my mouth shut. From one “fixer” to another. Love dad.

Leave a Reply

